For readers of The Sisterhood Blog

Enter for a chance to win 1 of 25 hamsas & galleys of The Book of Esther

“In this thrillingly inventive novel, Emily Barton has created a whole world worth losing yourself in. She sneaks up on you with a story so original you’ll wonder how she found it, and so vital that it seems amazing no one has ever told it before.”
—Mary-Louise Parker

The Book of Esther is a profound saga of war, technology, mysticism, power, and faith. This novel—simultaneously a steampunk Joan of Arc and a genre-bending tale of a counterfactual Jewish state by a writer who invents worlds “out of Calvino or Borges” (The New Yorker)—is a stunning achievement. Reminiscent of Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union and Philip Roth’s The Plot Against America, The Book of Esther reaffirms Barton’s place as one of her generation’s most gifted storytellers.

The Book of Esther (Tim Duggan Books; June 14, 2016), re-imagines history, technology, mysticism, and identity as it follows one reluctant warrior’s quest to save her nation. Barton is the author Brookland and The Testament of Yves Gundron, which were both selected as New York Times Notable Books of the Year. She has received grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Sustainable Arts Foundation.  You can read more about the book at http://bit.ly/1RrrXYL.

We're sorry, this sweepstakes has ended.

Ended on March 30th, 2016 at 11:59pm. Click here for rules.